Shannon Brown Receives Flagrant Two, but Stephen Jackson Could Get Fined

The Phoenix Suns lost Shannon Brown for part of their game against the San Antonio Spurs on Saturday after a hard foul on Manu Ginobili.  Brown was attempting to block a lay-up by Ginobili from behind when he hit Ginobili in the head and back, sending the Spurs' star to the floor.  The foul resulted in Brown's ejection, but it was not Ginobili who had strong words after the incident, it was Stephen Jackson.

According to Paul Coro of the Arizona Republic, Ginobili did not want to try to judge Brown's intent on the play.  Jackson had no such problem.  He did not think Brown was trying to hurt Ginobili, but he issued a warning to the rest of the league.

“I know Shannon Brown,” Spurs forward Stephen Jackson said. “He doesn’t play like that. Obviously, if it was anybody else, I probably would have knocked him out.”


Jackson has a history of allowing his mouth to get him into trouble.  Earlier this season, he was fined $25,000 for threatening Serge Ibaka.

Ginobili was fine after the incident on Saturday, but could from behind are dangerous.  It's not surprising that Brown was given a flagrant two, but the foul did not look malicious.

Posted in , , , . Bookmark the permalink. RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Powered by Blogger.

.

.

.

.

Search

Swedish Greys - a WordPress theme from Nordic Themepark. Converted by LiteThemes.com.